jump to navigation

I’m back! October 11, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Uncategorized.
trackback

Back from a long stretch of nights and back to running. After my workout on Thursday I was sore, tired, and achy. AKA my body was telling me to rest. So I took two days off and felt glorious Sunday morning as I came home from work. I decided to try a long run. I’ve been building for about two months and it was time to try seven miles!

(supporting a teammate while she ran her first post-collegiate  marathon!)

 The farthest I have run, again, since January. It went really well. My legs felt like poop during the last two miles but I averaged a very comfortable/conservative 8:37 pace. I would have captured the moment on the Garmen, but I was so exhausted from work that I passed out immediately.

But only after some recovery food!

A hearty helping of granola.
– 2 cups oats
– 1 cup sliced almonds
– 1/2 cup coconut
–  1/2 cup sunflower seeds
– 1/4 cup wheat germ
– 1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
– 2 tablespoon cooking oil (I use olive oil)
– 1 cup dried fruit (I use crasins and raisins)


#1. Mix everything together and stir really well
#2. Put it in the oven at 300 degrees for 25-20mins
#3. half way through baking, stir the oats to toast both sides

You may be wondering why I stress recovery food so much post-run. I don’t have time to get into it all tonight, so I’ll save it for another post! Tonight, I’m feeling so good that I went ahead a registered for a 10K Turkey Trot run! http://www.active.com/running/gainesville-fl/10k-turkey-trot-and-2-mile-fun-run-2010. Some of my family is coming into town for Thanksgiving and it’s tradition to run the day of Thanksgiving in order to enjoy the cookin’ aftewards! I hadn’t signed up because I wasn’t sure if I would get reinjured. But after a sucessful week of running, I’m going to do it!

Tomorrow I work at my PRN job for a Hospice Center. Have I mentioned to y’all that I love nursing? Hmmm, that’ll be another post! Night!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

