jump to navigation

Compare and Contrast October 12, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dinner, Recipes.
trackback

Maple Butter Squash & Apple recipe

Believe it or not, fall is coming to Florida!  I searched the net trying to find a recipe that would taste like fall. Success! I found on Angela’s site.  

Now, before you go oogling over her very-put-together site, let me explain some of the very subtle differences between her recipe and mine. #1. She’s a professional chief and I am not #2. She made a vegan version and I made non-vegan #3. Her pictures are better so I “borrowed” one (or two) and #4. I mess-uped creatively deviated from her recipe! So I’m on a mission to compare and contrast her fabulous recipe to one that is cooked by an average joe, like me! 🙂

  • 1.5lbs cubed butternut squash
    (I honestly have no idea what 1.5lbs of butternut squash looks like… so I used my best judgement)
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted
    (Here is where I “un-veganed” it. Angela used Earthbalance)
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 medium granny smith apples, cored and chopped into cubes
  • 3-4 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2-3 cups cooked quinoa
    (She used brown rice)
  •  1 tbsp brown sugar
  • #1. Preheat oven to 375F. Wash squash and place in microwave on high for 5-7 minutes to soften.

    #2. Cook quinoa according to package directions
    #3. While the rice is cooking, peel and chop butternut squash.

    This process was hard for me. I kept thinking, “this doesn’t look right! Oh goodness, I’ve messed up another vegetable!” I don’t know how Angela made it look so EASY! After much fussing, I finally turned that squash into this:

    Not bad for a novice huh? (P.S. Supposedly that knife in the picture is supposed to be very good at chopping things but I couldn’t tell!)

    (her cubed squash) Woooow! OOOOO! See what I mean?! Easy peezy

    #4.  In a small bowl mix the melted butter, curry powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and pure maple syrup. So here, I was “creative” and decided to mix in the rest of these ingredients (and/or wasn’t paying attention to the recipe). Angela split hers up somehow and I’m still not sure what she did… but this still turned out delicious!
    #5. Add 1/3 of sauce to butternut squash in the large bowl. Mix well.
    #6. Pour into a large casserole dish and cover with tin foil. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes at 375F.
    #7. While baking, core and chop apples. Add the rest of the syrup mix to apples mix well.

    Now this I could do. I have been living off apples my whole life so no problem-o!

    (Her’s) Pretty darn close huh!?

    #8. After 20 minutes, remove squash from oven and scoop on the apple mixture. Stir in the quinoa.
    #9. Cover with tin foil and bake another 10 minutes.
    #10. Uncover the dish, stir the mixture, and sprinkle brown sugar. Place into oven for another 30 minutes uncovered, stirring every 10 minutes until squash is fully cooked.

     My dish      

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Her Dish

    Compare and Contrast!

    Bottom line, her recipe is idiot-proof so I highly recommend this one for the novice!
    Enjoy!!!

    Comments»

    1. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - October 13, 2010

    Butternut squash is so tasty. This post reminds me that I need to make butternut squash soup..yum!

    frizzybaker - October 13, 2010

    i wish you were here to take the other 1/2 of my squash! I am afraid it will go bad before i use it!

    2. Gigi - October 13, 2010

    Looks delicious!


    Leave a Reply

