jump to navigation

Pumpkin Latte Morning October 12, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Drinks.
trackback

I was not bright eyed this morning and I struggled getting out of bed, especially because I had chemistry to do today for an online class. blech. So I decided to treat myself to a homemade pumpkin spice lattee I found on Mama Pea’s site. Much like yesterday’s post, this will be a compare and contrast of recipes.

I started with two strong cups of pumpkin spice coffee from Fresh Market

  • 1 c. milk She used non-dairy milk for the vegan version
  • 1 T. Hazelnut (or any flavor) creamer
  • 2 T. canned pumpkin
  • 1 T. Pumpkin Pie Spice (She used 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ginger, 1/4 t. ground nutmeg – but I already have all those wrapped up in my pumpkin spice mix. YUM)
  • stevia to taste
    Quick note on stevia – I tried this non-caloric sweetener to see how it matched up to regular sugar; it doesn’t. I used to be a HUGE splenda fan but once I discovered that it was some sort of processed creation and no one really knows what it’s doing to your body, I weaned myself off and went back to nature’s natural sugar cane. Stevia’s website says it’s sugar from a plant extract… I’m not sure how much of it is processed but to me, it tastes like plant. So I’m not going to use it once I finish this box. I’ll take the extra calories please.
  • #1. Mix pumpkin, milk and spices all together and heat until almost boiling on the stove top. 

    #2. Pour mixture into a high speed blender.

    #3. Mix on HIGH speed and it should become a little frothy

    Mine

    Hers

    #5. Pour into coffee and voila!

      

    Mine

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Hers

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    When it comes to pumpkin and coffee I feel expert!  Enjoy your day!

    Comments»

    1. your face - October 12, 2010

    i love pumpkin!

    frizzybaker - October 12, 2010

    I love you husband =)

    2. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - October 13, 2010

    That looks really tasty. I love your orange text for your pumpkin post!

    frizzybaker - October 13, 2010

    Thanks for the plug! You’re such a good sister =D I have my co-workers looking at my site for some healthy recipes. So now I hafta blogg more!!

    3. Gigi - October 13, 2010

    I want some!!!

    frizzybaker - October 13, 2010

    for thanksgiving i’ll make some!

    4. laurenmburns - October 13, 2010

    Looks super tasty and also not too hard to make! And it has real pumpkin!

    frizzybaker - October 14, 2010

    You get your veggies in 😉

    5. Carleen - October 13, 2010

    Hi! I’m glad you posted new stuff! I enjoy reading it (You missed a calling as a writer :)!! ) I woke up from my nap and started obsessing about a Pumpkin Latte. Alas, there is no pumpkin in house (Arrrgh!!!!!!!) but I will try it soon. Keep blogging!!!

    frizzybaker - October 14, 2010

    Next time come to my house because I have LOTS of pumpkin !!!


    Leave a Reply

