jump to navigation

Pizza Night October 13, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dinner.
trackback
About once a week Kevin and I eat pizza, which is his FAVORITE food. Instead of ordering from the usual/cheap Domino’s (I know what you’re thinking, but they really have good pizza here!). Tonight I decided to make my own! 
 

First, the ingredients:
The Dough

  • 1 1/4  cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/5 whole wheat flour
  • 1 package dry active yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup warm water (120-130 degrees F)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 

Other

  • Pizza sauce (I used spaghetti sauce and I would NOT recommend it. In the future, I am going to learn how to make my own pizza sauce but for now you can use pizza sauce purchased  from the store)
  • Veggies for topping
  • Pepperoni and chicken – for Kevin
  • Fresh grated mozzarella (however much you want)

 

 

#1. In a large mixing bowl, combine 1 1/4 cups of flour, the yeast, and salt: add warm water (I do not have a food thermometer, it broke, so I use my finger. It will feel a little cooler than the really hot water you get from your faucet. Don’t make it too hot or you’ll kill the yeast. When you combine these ingredients the yeast should start to expel small bubbles, meaning its alive and working!) Beat with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds, scraping the bowl. Beat on high speed for 3 mins. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much of the 1 1/4 – 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour as you can. 

 #2. Tour dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead enough of the remaining whole wheat flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic (6-8 mins). 

Okay, so I’m punching my dough cuz I’m goofing around. But kneading is a folding act. You fold over the dough again and again until it looks smooth (like my dough) and it is only slightly sticky to touch. Too much flour will make a dry bread and too little… well, i don’t know but it’s probably not going to be good. The art of bread making, ahhhh, I love it!

Here we go! Goooood Megan goood! And no hair in this dough! Sporting the “half and half-do” today.

#3. Divide dough in half. Cover; let rest for 10 mins in a warm, dry place.  

 #4. On a floured surface, roll each dough half into an 11-inch circle. Transfer dough circles to 2-pizza pans (All I have is a cookie sheet and one pizza pan. And I did not measure to see if it was exactly 11-inches. I don’t even think my counter is 11-inches wide or long. Use your best judgement and know that a thicker dough will take longer to cook.)

11-inches? Sure!

#5. Build up edges slightly. Cover and let rise in a warm place until nearly doubled in size (30-45 mins).

#6. Meanwhile, preheat over to 400 degrees F.

#7. Once dough has risen, prick dough with fork a lot. Bake for 10-15 mins or until light brown. Spread pizza sauce onto hot crusts and top with desired meat, veggies, and cheese. Bake until cheese is bubbly (about 10 mins).

It’s not delivery! It’s homemade!
Comments»

1. Gigi - October 13, 2010

Yummie! Glad you’re becoming such a good cook.


Leave a Reply

