jump to navigation

Pumpkin Spice Muffins & Icing October 15, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert.
trackback

Last night I made pumpkin spice muffins with spiced chocolate-chip buttercream icing for my co-workers. I got some good reviews and that got me talking about pumpkin for the rest of the night. One co-worker finally asked, “What is your deal with pumpkin?”

What is my deal? Oh, let me tell you…

I think it all started with the fall. Not the fall of man in the Christian sense. No. The season fall. Because I grew up in the mountains, I quickly came to love fall’s vivid color changes and the turn of  air into a crisp coolness. I learned that good things are associated with fall: hot coffee and oatmeal cooking in the morning, warm apple pies with smells of cinnamon and spices, and wafts of simmering soups by evening.  

As I grew older, I realized there was one food that did not grace me at any other time of the year: pumpkin.

Pumpkin pie, pumpkin butter, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin lattes…!

But pumpkin is a fair weathered friend and only likes to play during the best time of the year. So for two short months I talk about pumpkin, look for pumpkin recipes, carve pumpkin, and stuff myself stupid with pumpkin.  That is the big deal.

So moving on!

This recipe was inspired by Jen and Angela’s food blogs, but I tweaked parts!

ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
Very small pinch of cloves (1/8 teaspoon)
1/2 (of a 15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 cup applesauce
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten

#1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 12-cup muffin tin with liners (or cooking spray).

#2. In a large bowl, whisk together flours, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. 

#3. In a separate medium bowl, mix together pumpkin, oil, applesauce, sugar and eggs.

#4. Add wet mixture to flour mixture and stir until combined.

#5. Divide batter between muffin tins, filling about 3/4 (or a tad more) full. Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely. Muffins will keep for 3-5 days out or freeze well for a couple of months.

Can I just take a minute to tell you how much I love that red spatula spoon? I didn’t even know such things existed until I got married. It is SO GOOD at getting the last drop of pumpkin batter out of the bowl.

To put into the cupcake tin, of course. . .

It’s almost as good as my finger.

tee hee!

Spiced Chocolate-chip Buttercream Frosting

ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened
1  cup confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice (yes, a full tablespoon!)
lots ‘o chocolate chips!

#1. Whip the butter with a mixer until smooth.

#2. Add half of the icing sugar and blend well, stopping to scrape the side of bowl as needed.

#3. Add in the vanilla & pumpkin pie spice. Mix well.

#4. Add in the remaining icing sugar and blend for several minutes, stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl.

#5. Fold in as many as desired chocolate chips and spread on cooled muffin tops!

Because I was taking these into work, I just iced one for the pictures.

Oops! A mouse must have gotten into this one!!

Enjoy!

Comments»

1. Gigi - October 16, 2010

I’ll have to try that icing recipe. Really looks good.

2. frizzybaker - October 16, 2010

kt garrett is trying it out today!

3. Carleen - October 20, 2010

I made these yesterday and they were a tremedous hit with my husband and my girls 🙂 ! I did use less spice because, although I loved the ones you brought to work, I was afraid it was too spicy for them. And sadly, I did not get to try the icing because they were gone too fast!!!!!! I’ll save that for next time which will be soon ….. the girls requested them every morning for breakfast!!!!!!

4. Whitney - October 27, 2010

Meg!
Liz just told me about your blog- I just love it! and yay for pumpkin season!! Miss you!

frizzybaker - October 27, 2010

Yes! And we can share recipes this way 🙂 I’ve always loved your blog!!


Leave a Reply

