jump to navigation

Pumpkin Whoopie Mess October 19, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert.
trackback

Cookies do NOT like me. I love them. And maybe they dislike me because I eat them so frequently. Whatever the reason, I was not blessed with the cookie-making gene like my sister. On Angela’s site, I saw a fun recipe for pumpkin whoopie pies. If you’ve never had a whoopie pie, or don’t know what one is, neither did I until I visited the north. I’ve never heard of or seen one down south. A whoopie pie consists of two very soft cookies that sandwich a light, whipped icing. They are deeeelicious; I’ve made them before and they look like this:

But I wasn’t feeling for a whoopie, I was feeling for a cookie! I tried to make cookies but ended up making a key mistake and then I tried to cover it up . So I’ll do my compare and contrast and show you the original inspiration compared to my recipe.

First, I have to show you what came in the mail today!

A beeeautiful new apron from my mama!
She knew I was cooking without the proper clothing
and sent me this adorable apron. cute huh?

Ingredients:

  • 1 heaping cup canned pumpkin YESSSSSS!
  • 1.25 cups almond milk I used milk!
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup whole-grain Kamut flour I substituted for whole wheat but I am considering using this in the future
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance buttery spread Don’t let her scare you with her vegan stuff. I used butter if you’d prefer 🙂
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup sucanat sugar (or brown sugar) I used sucanat for the first time!! gasp! Maybe that’s why this never turned out! (or maybe it’s because I left 1/2 of the sucanat out?? oops)
  • 1/2 tsp molasses
  • Spiced Butter Cream Frosting I decided not to do the whoopie thing so I left off the icing

Directions:

#1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line two baking sheets with a non-stick mat or parchment paper. In a small bowl mix together the almond milk and apple cider vinegar and set aside. In a mixer, mix together the butter and sugars until fluffy. *THIS* is where I made my mistake, very early in the game 😦 
(I might have been distracted by my beautiful husband or my apron, I can’t remember). But I think I only put 1/3rd cup instead of 1/2 cup of brown sugar in because my cookies came out so bllaaand.blahhh

#2. Now add in the heaping cup of pumpkin My favorite part!, molasses, and vanilla extract and mix until fully combined.

#3. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flours, spices, baking powder + soda, and salt).
#4. Her directions were a bit confusing for me, so I reworded them and rewrote them here: Mix 1/3rd of milk mixture with the pumpkin mixture  until well blended. Mix 1/3rd dry mixture in with pumpkin mix until well blended. Continue to alternate milk mix and dry mix until all has been incorporated into pumpkin mixture. 

This is really a picture of my new apron!

#5. Scoop 1-2 tbsp of dough onto the sheet, making sure to leave about 1.5 inches between each cookie. Once you have scooped all your dough onto the pan, wet fingers very well and gently smooth out the dough into a round circle and flatten slightly. Don’t worry if it isn’t perfect!

Mine are defiantly not perfect… maybe that’s why they didn’t turn out??

#6. Bake for about 9-10 minutes and remove from oven, allowing to cool.

My Cookie

Since they were so bland, I tried adding CHOCOLATE to the tops and melting them.
They still were not sweet enough so I tried to cover up the cookie by spreading the chocolate. But that didn’t
work either… And I’m telling you, we have a serious mouse problem in our house. They
keep taking bites out of my sweets!!

The whoopie part While cooling, mix your spiced buttercream icing. In a baggie or a piping bag, pipe on a thick coating of icing onto one cookie/pie and then take another cookie/pie and press over top. Repeat for all whoopie pies. Makes 12-30 whoopie pies depending on how big you make them.

Angela’s Pumpkin Whoopie Pie

Yes, hers turned out beautiful, and she said they tasted good, but I wonder if they are a little bland. I had some portion of my batter left from the first batch, so I, again, tried to cover up my mistake by adding more brown sugar. They just didn’t turn out! Oh well, at least I still have my apron. 🙂

While these cookies didn’t turn out for this novice chief, maybe they’ll turn out for you.
Good luck!

Comments»

1. Gigi - October 19, 2010

Cooking in style!

2. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - October 21, 2010

Don’t be scared of the vegan stuff…it won’t kill you like the non-vegan stuff 😉


Leave a Reply

