jump to navigation

Homemade Pumpkin Butter & its Seeds October 25, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Butters and Sauces.
trackback

Down here in Florida, I have not been able to find my beloved Pumpkin butter. 😦 My sweet sister stocked me up the last time she saw me but I have eaten it all!! So I decided to make some! I couldn’t find a recipe that suited me, so I melted a lot of them together. So try at your own risk, but I thought it turned out pretty well!

ingredients:
1 – 2.5lb organic pumpkin
1 cup sucanut (or brown sugar)
1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice – (or you can mix 1 Tablespoon cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon cloves, 1.5 teaspoon ginger)
1 dash cinnamon (I like a lot of spices!)
3/4 apple cider (mine was homemade)
2 tsp vanilla extract

#1. Cut pumpkin in half and scoop out seeds and pulp.

This was hard to do! I used a knife and a spoon but I there must be a pumpkin cutter and pumpkin scooper out there somewhere!

But I did it!

#2. Next I put the pumpkin in a 8×8 pan with 3 cups of water, popped it in the oven at 350 F for approx 45min, or until the pumpkin is soft.

While the pumpkin was baking, I had a revelation…

Could this, be turned into. . .

This??!!

The answer is yes, yes YES! I will show you had to make Sugar and Spice Pumpkin Seeds farther down 🙂

#3. Once the pumpkin was cooked, I peeled the skin off, and tossed the fleshy pumpkin into a blender to puree it.

#4. I mixed in the apple cider, pumpkin spice, sucanat, vanilla extract, and cinnamon with the pumpkin. Then threw it all in a crock pot, turned it on low, and left it for 30-45 mins to allow the spices to melt together.

#5.  I let it cool and put them into glass jars.

Sugar and Spice Pumpkin Seeds

ingredients:
-Raw pumpkin seeds (I got mine from my pumpkin!!)
– 3/4 Tablespoon olive oil
-3/4 Tablespoon sugar (or to taste)
– Dash of cinnamon (or to taste)
– Dash of pumpkin spice (mandatory :))
-1/4 teaspoon salt
* Note about the ingredients: I made this recipe up so everything was approximate. The beauty to this is, you can’t mess it up! Just season to your taste!

#1. If seeds come from pumpkin, wash, and let dry (drying takes approx 30-45 min)

#2. Drizzle olive oil on pumpkin seeds and mix

#3. Season with sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt. Mix well

#4. Spread on greased cookie sheet and bake at 250F for 30 min, stopping halfway to flip pumpkin seeds

Voila! These are so tasty; I’ve almost eaten them all and I made them last night. oops!

Comments»

1. Jesse Rae - October 25, 2010

This sounds delicious! I am going to have to try it now! Esp the pumpkin seed part!!


Leave a Reply

