jump to navigation

GREEN MONSTER!! October 26, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Drinks.
trackback

After long runs or hard workouts, I am recovering with a green monster. I have had a lot of co-workers and friends inquire about this smoothie. What is it? Why is it green? How can it be good for you and taste delicious?! It is packed full of vitamin C, protein, and flavonoids. The secret ingredient is spinach.

I even got Kevin to drink this, which means it’s kid friendly 🙂  Try it for yourself!

ingredients:
2 heaping handfuls raw spinach
1 ripe banana
1/2 cup lowfat milk
1/4 cup blueberries
1 spoonful almond butter or peanut butter
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

#1. Mix spinach, banana, milk, blueberries, almond butter, and vanilla extract into a blender

#2. Blend until smooth

#3. Pour into glass, add an ice cube, and enjoy!

GREEN MONSTER!!

Comments»

1. Jesse Rae - October 27, 2010

I have been thinking about trying one of these after reading some other Healthy Living blogs. Question…do you just put the raw spinach leaves in the blender and they actually puree to a smoothie texture? If so, I’m trying it tomorrow!

frizzybaker - October 27, 2010

that’s excalty what they do! it’s deeeelicious

2. Gigi - October 31, 2010

Does it taste good?

3. Carleen - November 10, 2010

After much procrastinating, I finally tried this. And as I stood admiring the finished product, I thought “either Megan is a genius OR I am a total moron (for believing this could taste “good” and that it is “not a bit like spinach”). ….. But you are a genius because it was very good (and not a bit like spinach). One daughter and my husband liked it as well. My son would not even try it (it is a Green Monster !!!!!!!)
I will definitely have some more. Thanks :)!!

frizzybaker - November 10, 2010

haha yesss! and there are more “genuis” recipes on the way – chocolate zucchini bread 🙂 I have to think of ways to get my kid (kevin) to eat veggies 😉


Leave a Reply

