jump to navigation

Whole Wheat Banana-Pumpkin Pancakes October 27, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Breakfast.
trackback

I have a TON of bananas. One morning I was squwaking at Kevin because we had no banana’s in the house and I was craving my banana oatmeal. What did my irrational squwaking get me? A bunch of banana’s. Kevin and I simutaneoulsy bought a couple of bunches while our neighbor donated a bunch due to the squwaking that early AM. So I have this:

I am proud to say my batch has dwindled down to the above, but I have eaten so many banana’s that I think I am turning into one!

So I am making some Whole Wheat Banana-pumpkin Pancakes. These are hearty cakes without a lot of sugar, so don’t expect a super sweet cake. Kevin like them (with lots of syrup on top) so you might manage too. 😉

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour 
  • 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 egg whites
  • Directions:
    Combine 1 Tabelspoon sugar, the baking powder, cinnamon, cocoa, and salt, sift in the flour (to remove some of the larger pieces particularly in whole wheat flour), and mix. Mash the bananas and add pumpkin. Blend well. Add the other 1 Tablespoon sugar, the water, skim milk, vanilla, and egg to the mashed bananas and mix. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir. Heat the griddle to medium/medium-high, and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Pour the batter into the griddle. Flip when bubbles appear. Cook until golden brown on both sides.

    #1. Combine 1 Tablespoon sugar, the baking powder, cinnamon, cocoa, and salt, sift in the flour (to remove some of the larger pieces particularly in whole wheat flour), and mix.

    #2. Mash the bananas and stir in pumpkin. Blend well.

    I also added a little something to the mix…

    Big surprise here!

    #3. Add the last 1 Tablespoon sugar, the water, skim milk, vanilla, and egg to the mashed bananas and mix

    #4. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir.

    #5. Heat the griddle to medium/medium-high, and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Pour the batter into the griddle. Flip when bubbles appear. Cook until golden brown on both sides.

    Now, as you can see, I am terrible pancake flipper. My pancake looks like it’s trying to grow an arm and leg. 

    I could blame it on this very flimsy spatula-type thingy. (If this isn’t for flipping pancakes, then what is it for?!)

    But I still wasn’t having luck with the stiffer spatula.

    “Well Megan, how do you normally flip your pancakes?” You might ask. “Surely this isn’t your first time?”
    And you’d be right, this isn’t my first time. But I normally have a hand-dandy pancake flipper available, but he was no where to be seen!!

    There he is.. still in bed, sleepy head.

    Oh well! More for me! 🙂
    P.S. It’s deeeelicious with Homemade Pumpkin Butter

    Comments»

    No comments yet — be the first.

    Leave a Reply

