jump to navigation

What happens in DC, ends up on my Blog November 1, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Adventures.
trackback

Once Jon Stewart and Steve Colbert announced they were having a rally in Washington DC, Kevin looked at me with those big brown eyes and said, “Can we pleeeeease go?!?!” My initial reaction was “no.” The Problems?

#1. too much money to fly
#2. driving 24 hours to stay in DC for 24 hours is insane. The rally is promoting sanity
#3. No place to stay.

Over the next couple of days, Kevin worked hard to solve these problems. The results? Five 22-25 year olds rented a van, took turns driving up to DC and back to Florida, and crashed at a friend’s apartment. Not only did we squeeze in a 3 hour rally and trip to DC, but a Halloween party as well 🙂

It all started when we left at 5pm from Florida. The 12 hours up to DC did not even phase me because I had just finished working a 12-hour night shift, so needless to say, I slept the whole way! We arrived at this guy’s apartment at 5AM.

(Fernando – great name huh?!)

After some meet and greet time, we crashed for a couple of hours and bounced back up to march to the rally!

The march

Views we had while marching

Marching shenanigans

(Note the beautiful fall trees! And my husband’s smile…)

Where’s Waldo?

One by one we march…

until…

there are 250,000 people at the mall!

A very sleepy Mary had to take a break from standing and stuff her face with some Oreo’s. yuum!

A very happy couple!

While I’m not going to get into my political views of the rally, I did think there were some good points made! It was also very entertaining. 🙂 If you did not see it on T.V., check it out for yourself somewhere online!

The rally ended promptly at 3pm as promised and we marched to food! But after stopping to take one insignificant picture 😉

(Oh my gosh the WHITE HOUSE! So COOL!)

We met up with Kevin’s cousin, Jessica, and ate at  Kramer Books & Afterwords Cafe (www.kramerbooks.com).

The menu had some great seasonal dishes. I hate to say it, but I was so full from dinner that I couldn’t stomach this desert!

I forgot the name of my dish, but it was some sort of asian noodle with stir-fry veggies.

It was deeeelish!

There was still some daylight and I was determined to see Georgetown. We split from the group, and our knowledgable host, and headed out on our own for the University. About 45 mins later, we finally found it. It was too dark for me to take pics but this is what I saw!

I LOVE exploring college campuses!

After all that walking, we were pooped and still had another 45 min trek back to the apartment. We decided to stop for a Starbucks pumpkin spice latte. YUMM

Once we arrived at the apartment, the party had begun and we met more new friends.

(mmm, my husband on the shoulders of a penguin? Must be Halloween!)

The next day, we said a tearful goodbye to DC and our new friends and were homebound to Florida.

So my conclusion about the past three days?
– Renting a car and paying for gas = $200
– Staying downtown DC = Free
– Seeing Stewart and Colbert live at the “Rally to Restore Sanity/Fear” while making new friends at a Halloween party! = Priceless

Comments»

1. Carrie - November 2, 2010

It looks like Kevin and the penguin won the race!

What a great trip!

2. Nicole - November 2, 2010

Awesome. I had no idea you even knew who Jon Stewart was.
You spent a LOT less than I did when I went to DC…I don’t even want to talk about.

You totally should have named this post: Serenity Now, Insanity Later. 😉

frizzybaker - November 2, 2010

WHY didn’t I consult you before posting this!! What a perfect name! hahahaha


Leave a Reply

