jump to navigation

Honey Whole Wheat Bread November 7, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Breakfast.
trackback

 

Did everyone get a good extra hour of sleep last night?!  Good. Because while you were snoozin’ I was working 13 hours! It was weird to have one o’clock in the morning pass by and then have to repeat it again. It actually was not as bad as I thought it was going to be. I’m still going this AM and I got paid 1 hour over-time!

So I needed some comfort food after a loooong night’s work. Sunday’s are usually the days I make my homemade honey whole wheat bread.

Bread is one of my favorite things to bake and I have been using this recipe for two years. I have tweaked it to perfection!  Kneading the dough, waiting for it to rise, and smelling it bake relaxes me. The outcome is delicious , wholesome, you-know-what-you-have-in-your-bread, bread.

Ingredients:
2 (o.25 oz) packets active dry yeast
3 cups warm water (110 degrees F)
1/3 cup honey
5 cups bread flour

3 T organic unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup honey
1 Tablespoon salt
3 1/2 – 4 cups whole wheat flour

Orange Blossom honey is my secret ingrediant… since moving to Florida. I never knew such honey existed until being conned into buying some at a Farmer’s Market. The nice farmer man told me that I had never had this honey before, that all I probably knew was the Sourwood honey they sell in North Carolina. True. True. So I bought some and I keep going back!

Directions

1. In a large bowl, mix water, yeast, and 1/3 cup honey.

2. Add 5 cups white breath flour and stir to combine.

Stir Stir Stir!

3. Let sit for 30 mins or until big and bubbly

4. Mix in 3 T applesauce, 1/3 cup honey, and salt.

The original recipe calls for 3T of melted butter. I started substituting with applesauce and found the bread not lacking in anything, but gaining yummy moisture. So what do I do with the left over cup of applesauce?

5. Stir in 2 cups whole wheat flour.

6. Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead in 1.5 – 2 cups whole wheat flour. Knead until slightly sticky to touch or just pulling away from the counter.  It will be smooth like a baby’s butt. * New bread makers, knead for about 5-8 mins.

Be careful not to knead in too much flour or your dough will be too stiff. Having done this multiple times, I have only kneaded in an additional 1.5 cup of whole wheat flour. Also, remember the salt! Once, I accidentally omitted the salt and I got a very bitter/stale tasting breath, thus proving to me how much a little salt can draw out flavor!

7. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to coat the surface of the dough. Cover with a dish towel and store in a warm place without drafts. Allow to rice until doubled – about 1 hour.

8. Punch down and divide into 2 loaves.

9. Place in greased loaf pans and allow to rise until dough has topped pans by one inch – about 15-30 mins. (topped by one inch not pictured – sorry!)

10. Bake at 350 degrees F for 25-30min. Cover top of bread with aluminum foil if tops become too brown. You know the bread is down when you insert a thermometer and it reaches 190-200F. If you are a novice like me I have to revert back to my nursing skills of “look, listen, and feel.” If you are not a nurse, don’t worry, it doesn’t take a BSN to figure out bread. If you don’t have a thermometer (which I don’t), knock on your bread. If it makes a thud sound, it’s not done. It should sound hollow.

The advice above was given in the original recipe. I have no idea what a hollow sounding break is like. I just cut one of the loaves in half and see if it’s done. A little undercooked is okay because the bread will keep baking.

6. Take the bread out of the pans and cool on a wire rack (or a pizza pan if you don’t have a wire rack…) or the bottoms may get soggy and mold!

So I will enjoy my comforting break on my favorite plate:

“If you have good friends you have almost everything”

This was given to me by one of my best friends, bridesmaid, and teammate, Elizabeth.

Here she is consoling me after a mediocre race.

Such a good friend…. such a good piece of bread… consoling me after a long night’s work. mmmm!

Comments»

1. Nicole @ yuppieyogini - November 8, 2010

I love that bread…I want some now. That is a cute picture of you and Liz. I think you had a mediocre race because of the red ribbon in your hair….I’ve never seen you wear ribbons…lol. 🙂

frizzybaker - November 8, 2010

You’re right. It probably slowed me down!!

2. Liz Smothers - November 9, 2010

Aww… I love this Megan! And it makes me so happy you are still enjoying your plate!

frizzybaker - November 9, 2010

I LOVE LOVE this plate. I eat on it almost every morning and think of you 🙂

3. Gigi - November 9, 2010

I want some of that honey and a couple pieces of the bread too!

frizzybaker - November 9, 2010

You might get some soon!! 😉

4. Katie - May 23, 2011

I just made two loaves of this heavenly bread and they are perfect!! Honestly, this is the best sandwich bread recipe that I’ve found. You da best, meg.


Leave a Reply

