jump to navigation

Key-Lime Cake November 9, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert.
trackback

I had a special request from one of my AWESOME co-workers to make a Key-Lime Cake. Well, I had never even heard of  Key-Lime Cake before so I searched on my trust-worthy allrecipes.com and sure enough, found one!

Ingredients
1 (18.25 ounce) package lemon cake mix
1 1/3 cups vegetable oil I used 1/2 cup vegetable oil and 1 cup of applesauce. You really don’t need this much oil for it to be moist and tasty.
4 eggs
1 (3 ounce) package lime flavored gelatin mix – I saved 2 Tablespoons for the icing that I modified.
3/4 cup orange juice 
 
Icing
1/2 cup butter
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
4 cups confectioners’ sugar

I modified the icing a lot. Here’s what I did:
1/4 cup butter
1-80z package cream cheese
2 Tablespoon lime flavored gelatin mix
2 cups confectioners’ sugar

 

Directions
1. Combine cake mix, gelatin mix, oil, eggs and orange juice.

2.  Pour into three 8 inch cake pans. Bake according to instructions on box. Allow to cool, then frost.

When the cake came out, it looked like a lemon cake. I was expecting this cake to be GREEN because of the lime gelatin mix. I poked a little hole in the top juuust to make sure it was green inside.

3. To make the frosting: In a large bowl, beat the butter and cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add lime gelatin mix and confectioners sugar. Mix well.

 

4. Frost the cake and stick it in the fridge until ready to serve! 

I’m bringing the cake in tonight for all the night-shifters so we’ll see if the crowd likes it!!

Comments»

1. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - November 10, 2010

Interesting….weird…green. 😉 Your pics are really good in this post!

frizzybaker - November 10, 2010

Thanks! This actually turned out to be a big hit! The cake was gone in about an hour 🙂 I think the green would be good for a St. Pattie’s day cake

2. Gigi - November 26, 2010

Yes. A great cake for St. Patrick’s Day. Did Kevin like it?


Leave a Reply

