jump to navigation

Chocolate “Zucchini” Tea Cake November 12, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert.
trackback

So Kevin ate ONE bowl of my very healthy Minestrone soup. I had to find a way to sneak more vegetables in him. Just as I was plotting, his mother sent me a family recipe:  Chocolate [Zucchini] Tea cake. In order to get Kevin to eat this, she told me to leave out the “Zucchini” part of the name! This recipe showed me that moms really do know best.  

It’s sneaky stuff like this that I believe makes me a better wife 😉

And again, another kid-friendly recipe!

Directions

¼ cup light olive oil
1 large cold egg
¾ cup sugar
1tsp vanilla extract
1 ¼ cup unbleached all purpose flour
2 tbsp dutch process cocoa powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8   tsp ground cloves
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup regular or low fat plain yogurt
1 cup shredded zucchini
1 cup broken or chopped walnuts (optional)
1 cup bittersweet choc chips (Ghiradelli 60%)

Directions 

1.   Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Set a rack in the center of the oven.  Lightly coat an 8x4x2 ½ loaf pan with oil or cooking spray.

 2. In a mixing bowl whisk the oil and egg together until they resemble homemade mayonnaise, 15 strokes.  Beat in the sugar and vanilla.

 

3.  Add the flour, cocoa, cinnamon, cloves, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

4. Mixing with rubber spatula to combine the wet and dry ingredients into a thick batter.  Mix in the yogurt.

5.  Time for the secret ingredient: zucchini.

 I tried chopping this up, but if you have been following my blog, you know I have terrible cutting skills. So I used my hand-dandy food processor and got this:

Mix in zucchini.

#6. Add walnuts plus half the chocolate chips.  Turn the batter into the prepared pan and sprinkle the remaining chocolate chips over the top.

#7. Set the pan on a light-colored baking sheet and bake 50 minutes or until knife inserted into the center comes out clean. 

#8. Cool the bread in the pan for 20 minutes, then unmold and cool completely on a wire rack before refrigerating, wrapped in foil, until it is chilled through 6 hours.  This bread keeps up to 5 days.

 I made cupcakes and they turned out like this:

No vegetables in here!

Comments»

1. Nicole @ yuppieyogini - November 13, 2010

I love zucchini bread. I wish I had a cupcake right now!

2. Maw maw - November 16, 2010

That cupcake looks so good!!! I bet it is good with a cup of coffee!
You are a good cook! love maw maw

frizzybaker - November 17, 2010

I’ll have to make them for you sometime!!


Leave a Reply

