jump to navigation

Happy Thanksgiving! part I November 26, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Adventures, Running.
trackback

This Thanksgiving, Kevin and I were very luck to have family visit us here in sunny Florida! The in-laws, my parents, and my aunt and uncle have graced our presence this special season. 

Kevin’s Mom, Glenda

From left to right: me, Mom, Aunt Debbie

Left to right: Uncle Ray, Me, Dad, Debbie – Morning of the 10K race!!

They are staying in these adorable bed and breakfasts that are right next to each other – makes for easy coordination for our Thanksgiving agenda.

The Cottage

The Bed and Breakfast

Mom cooking in the kitchen

We started the festivities with a traditional Turkey Trot 10k=K!

This past Sunday my hip was hurting on my last long run and I was worried and upset that I might not be healthy enough to race. The next four days consisted of icing, resting, and foam rolling and resulted in good news! Not only was I to run, but I smashed my goal of 8:00min pace! I ran the race in 47 mins which averages to a 7:33min/mile!

I was SO HAPPY to be racing! I could not stop smiling for the first two miles 🙂

AND I got second in my age group 🙂

Now, for those of you who have read my running section, you know that I have been struggling with a hip injury for about a year now. This has been the first race in about 1 1/2 year that I have been able to train for. I was able to run 15-20miles/week, run 9miles for a long run, and complete some speedy workouts – all without injury. So bottom line, this race was a HUGE sucess! I felt amazing the first 3 miles, pushed 4 through 5 mile to average a 7:15 and then finished up with a 7:30 last mile and big kick! I’ve been on a huge runner’s high all day 🙂

On top of all that good news, my mom, dad, aunt, and uncle also placed in the top three of their age groups and won prizes!

We received running socks, lip balm, anti-chaffing sticks, the bag, and a medal of course!

Have you met Daniel? Kevin’s 9 year old brother?

He suckered Kevin into doing a two-mile fun run! So after the fun run, Kevin was designated camera man along with his dad, Keith (which is why he is NEVER pictured! hehe).

It was a successful turkey trot for all of us and deserved yummy food! You can catch the rest of my thanksgiving at
Thanksgiving Part II – The Bike Ride & Thanksgiving Part III – The FOOD

Comments»

1. Gigi - November 26, 2010

A wonderful day with so much to be thankful for!

frizzybaker - November 27, 2010

Thankful that mommie and daddy came dowwwwnn!

2. Maw maw - November 26, 2010

These pictures aare great!!! Seems you had a great day!!!! love

frizzybaker - November 30, 2010

We Missed y’all!!

3. Uncle Rayburn and Aunt Debbie - November 26, 2010

Megan dear, you are the hostess with the mostest! What a day we all had and you orchestrated all of it! Your Aunt Debbie and I expect this kind of treatment every year!

frizzybaker - November 27, 2010

You’re always welcome to come on down!!

4. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - November 27, 2010

You look so cute in your little running shorts. Good job on your race!

frizzybaker - November 27, 2010

Congrats on your last race too! We are both on the road to recovery!!


Leave a Reply

