jump to navigation

Pumpkin French Toast November 30, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Breakfast.
trackback

oh-la-la what is this?! More PUMPKIN! Okay, so maybe I lied when I said “goodbye to pumpkin season” in Thanksgiving Part III – The FOOD. I just had to start my morning with some pumpkin french toast. This was real easy to make and I didn’t get any complaints from the peanut gallery (AKA my hubby!)

This was adapted from www.allrecipes.com and I made a few changes. I 1/2ed the recipe since I was only making enough for me and Kevin and I added a bit more pumpkin ­čśë

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs (2eggs for me)´╗┐
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree – I put in 1/3 cup pumpkin because I LOVE pumpkin if you did not know
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg
  • 8 slices whole wheat bread I used french bread!

Directions

  1. Beat the eggs, pumpkin puree, cinnamon, and nutmeg together in a bowl. Dip the bread slices into the pumpkin mixture until coated on both sides. ´╗┐

I’ve been purchasing organic, farm-raised chicken eggs from a member of our church! They are absolutely deeeelicious!

The Batter! yumyumyumyum

2. Melt 1 teaspoon of butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Place 4 of the bread slices into the skillet and cook until browned on both sides, about 3 minutes per side. Repeat with the remaining bread and butter.

These are pretty bland without a little doctoring – I liked this because it I could taste the pumpkin! But I needed to disguise the fact that they were dipped in a┬ávegetable so Kevin would eat them.┬áSo I sprinkled some┬ásucanut (or you can use brown sugar) overtop of Kevin’s.

 

And then plopped them onto the skillet!

 

Now, I don’t know if you remember, but in a previous post I made Whole Wheat Banana-Pumpkin pancakes┬áand I had some trouble flipping them┬áwith┬ámy bendy┬áspatula.┬áOne of my co-workers saw this mishap and decided to fix my problem and buy me a NEW spatula… but this isn’t just any ‘ol spatula

It’s a BEE spatula! I was able to flip those pumpkin french toasts easily from BEEhind!

My co-worker also had a matching BEE hot-plate, but I used it to display my first batch of pumpkin french toast ­čÖé

Such a nice gift!

Now for the secret weapon (as if the bee-surprise and sucanat wasn’t enough!)…

PURE MAPLE SYRUP – AHHHHHH!

Enjoy ­čÖé

 

Comments»

1. Gigi - November 30, 2010

Why did’t you fix that for us!???

frizzybaker - November 30, 2010

So you’d come baaack!

2. Gigi - November 30, 2010

Maybe we can have it when you come for Christmas?

frizzybaker - December 1, 2010

Yes!

3. Carleen - December 22, 2010

Hello Megan! I finally just made these. I had to adjust the recipe alittle to make pumpkin for me and “plain” for everyone else. But they were very good. I love the french bread as it was easier to handle than floppy regular bread. One daughter tried them and said they were “ok” (with a preteen that leaves a lot open for interpretation!!!!!).
I enjoy reading your blog. Merry Christmas!

frizzybaker - December 23, 2010

haha! I’m glad you enjoyed them! I really enjoyed the french bread too. I think they would be even yummier if you soaked them for 30mins or so. I didn’t soak’em but that way the batter could soak in. yuuuuuuuum. Merry Christmas to you too!


Leave a Reply

