jump to navigation

Christmas Nostalgia December 7, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m bundled up in my new slippers,

a scarf, a sweat shirt, and some comfy pants.

I know, I know, the high today was 55 degrees but the low tonight is 24 degrees! Brrr! That’s pretty cold for being in Florida.  But not nearly as cold as the 18 degrees and snow flurries that will happen at my house!

However, something about the first chill of winter makes my mind wander. With the crispy air comes dimmer days laced with soft twinkle lights in neighborhoods, smells of hot coco, sounds of steaming tea, and of course being bundled!

And let’s not forgot the smell of the Fresh Balsam candle my Grandmother sent me 🙂

These sensations open the gates for Mr. Nostalgia to enter. He saunters in through my line of sight and smell from pleasures mentioned above. He slides in my ears through Christmas songs. Each song then begins to bring some memory of my childhood back. My tastes are taunted by the Christmas cookies and cakes of peppermint and gingerbread! I have to say that last night I went and bought a Gingerbread latte at Starbucks and it was SO GOOD!

Okay Mr. Nostalgia, you won over four of my sense but how about the fifth – sense of touch? Oh, he’s all OVER than one. Have I said cold, snow, bundled, and hot tea yet? Not to mention the feel of lacing the twinkle lights around our room or fluffing the tickley yet prickly miniature Christmas tree?

So Megan, what happens when Nostalgia overtakes your senses ?? Oh dear, my mind wanders. . . Thoughts of Christmas, friends, family, and Jesus Christ drift over and render me pathetic for the next hour or two as I mull over memories of years ago (okay, so maybe not THAT long ago… I am only 24!)

So for the rest of the night I’ll probably have one or two of these

and a glass or two of that

allow Mr. Nostalgia to settle in and mull over some of the good stuff.

No, not wine, the bible. Although the two are very compatible 😉

I am a Christian which makes this season all the more meaningful to me.  Sadly, I cannot act the way a Christian should – full of kindness, compassion, pure thoughts, pure speech, bursting with love. . . perfect. I am a hypocrite and the last person to claim perfection. But I know and believe there is a Savior who is perfect and was born into our world as a human – one who was tempted, saddened, tired, and angered. And because He knew I wouldn’t and couldn’t be perfect, He was and then saved me (and the world!) from sin by hanging on the cross.

So if you celebrate Christmas but don’t claim Christianity, I challenge you think, remember, be nostalgic about the meaning and reason for Christmas. There’s a reason behind those Christmas songs, the food, the glory of the season. Him!

If nothing else, I hope my post invited some nostalgic moments into your mind tonight. 🙂

“Joy to the world, the Lord has come. Let Earth receive her King! Let every heart prepare him room. Let heaven and nature sing!!” Listen Here

Comments»

1. Gigi - December 7, 2010

The snow is swirling and the wind us howling here in Asheville. Christmas is waiting for you and Kevin. So hurry up!

frizzybaker - December 7, 2010

Uh oh… maybe we wanna stay down here where the sun is shining at a mere 60 degrees!!

2. Maw maw - December 7, 2010

Megan what a wonderful gift to read your Christmas Nostalgia and see the pictures. You have the correct meaning of Christmas. Thank you so much for sharing all of this with us and others. love you and Kevin so much!!!!!!!

3. Nicole @ yuppie yogini - December 7, 2010

Cute post. I like the pic of you with the scarf wrapped around your face. Lol!

frizzybaker - December 7, 2010

haha – I knew you’d love that!


Leave a Reply

