jump to navigation

Pumpkin Coconut Almond Granola December 12, 2010

Posted by frizzybaker in Breakfast.
trackback

I’ve been thinking about running a 1/2 marathon in February with my friend Carrie! To date, my longest run thus far has been 9miles without groin issues. Whether I sign up or not will depend on how my leg fairs.  In the meantime I’m exciting thinking about it!!

So I’ve been running in the mornings after work and it has been coooooold here! But cold weather running is my favorite! I run so much better when the temperature is 60 degrees and below.

Out for my morning jog!

And I LOVE my Nike long sleeve. It keeps me at the perfect temperature while running and if I get a little warm it has a neck zipper I can zip down. It allows for the perfect body temp!

After my glorious run, I decided to experiment with a new granola! And I just can’t resist continuing pumpkin season. I think I have a problem.

Pumpkin Coconut Almond Granola

Ingredients

Dry
2 cups rolled oats 
1/3 cup shredded almonds
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut 
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon 
1 teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

Wet
3 T pumpkin butter
1/2 cup pumpkin puree I used 1 cup (oops) and I think that was too much and I’ll explain why in the directions. 
1 T honey 
Splash of vanilla extract
1.5 T canola oil
splash of water
 

Directions:
1. Mix together dry and wet ingredients separately.

2. Heat up wet ingredients in the microwave for 30-45 seconds.

So… much… pumpkin! I got EXCITED!

mmmm honey!


3. Combine and Mix

5. Bake for 30-40 min. at 325 degrees F, stirring every so often.

So, because I love pumpkin so much, I decided to add more pumpkin… and then more.. and then some more… So instead of really crunchy granola, I ended up with moist, cake-like granola. But that was OK with me! 🙂

Comments»

1. Whit - December 12, 2010

That looks delicious! I just may have to make some. I hope your hip/groin holds up through the training 🙂

frizzybaker - December 12, 2010

Thanks Whit! I hope you try the recipe!

2. Maw maw - December 22, 2010

All the goodies you make look delicious!! How is your leg? I love your hair and your red kettle! love you


Leave a Reply

