jump to navigation

Barley Beef Soup January 25, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Dinner, Running.
trackback

It was bright and chilly this weekend. AKA perfect running weather, especially on the trails…

It felt so good that my 8 mile run ended up being a 9 miler. Since it has been a while since I’ve run long, I’ve decided not to run a 1/2 marathon next month. Mentally, I don’t want to commit and at the moment other wonderful things yearn for my attention: work, my husband, and my social life! I think my body is pleased with this decision because hip injury is 99.9% healed!! YIPPEE!

So what is my new workout schedule? I’m running 3-5 miles 4-5 days/week and then a long-ish run once a week. On the days I opt not to run, I lift weights with the hubby or practice yoga. If my schedule allows, I jump in a Bosu Body Class or Spin Class – very fun! After being regimented in college, I find it refreshing to do whatever the heck I want!

Since it was chilly this weekend, I decided to make something warm…

Barley-Beef Soup

Ingredients:
12oz beef stew meat, cut into 1in cubes
1 tablespoon cooking oil
1 -14oz cans beef broth (although I snuck in a veggie broth can tee hee)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 garlic cloves
1 bay leaf
1 cup frozen veggies
1-14.5oz can petite diced tomatoes, undrained
1 medium potato, cubed
2/3 cup quick-cooking barley

Directions:
1. In a Dutch oven, brown meat in hot oil. Guess who I got to do that?!

2. Stir in broth, onion, celery, oregano, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, garlic, and bay leaf. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 1.5 hours.


3. Stir in frozen veggies, undrained tomatoes, potato, and barley. Return to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, about 15 mins more or until meat and vegetables are tender. Discard bay leaf.

I hear that bay leaves are poisonous… aaaand I always forget to discard the it but so far neither my husband nor I have croaked. Does anyone know the truth about Bay leaves?

Comments»

1. Gigi - January 25, 2011

Love those bowls. There just the right size and depth.


Leave a Reply

