jump to navigation

Whole Wheat Cookie February 4, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert, Recipes.
trackback

I’ve made this cookie several times and it is delicious. It is chalk full of good-for-you and  some not-so-good-for-you things. This time around, I experimented using a chia egg and sucanat . Below is some info on Chia seeds and their health benefits.  

  • They are rich in dietary fiber which help keep you satisfied longer
  • They absorb water and thus help you stay well hydrated
  • They have a high ratio of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids which is known to improve cardiovascular health and enhance brain function.
  • Help stabilize blood sugar levels which keeps uncontrolled cravings to a minimum.

Ingredients:
– 3/4 cup oats
– 1 cup whole wheat flour
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 baking soda
– 1/3 cup white sugar
– 1/3 cup brown sugar I used sucanat which may make it a little less sweet
– 1/4 cup butter
– 1/4 cup oil
– 1 egg I substituted for a chia egg which measures 1 Tablespoon chia seeds + 3 tablespoons water
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– Chocolate chips, rasins, walnuts

Directions:

1. To make chia egg mix water and chia seeds. Let set for 15 mins.

They will be gooey after 15 mins, like an uncooked egg

1. Beat butter until fluffy

2. Add oil, sugars, egg (or chia egg), vanilla and beat until smooth.

3. With mixer running add dry ingredients. Mix until smooth.

4. Stir in chocolate chips, nuts, and raisins.

5. Preheat oven to 350 F and bake for 15 min

A semi good for you cookie!

I will be eating this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the next couple of days 🙂 It’s all about moderation

Comments»

1. Nicole @ yuppieyogini - February 9, 2011

OMG! These are almost vegan! I have never had chia seeds, but I hear they make oats really yummy.

2. Gigi - February 13, 2011

I wish I had one now! Where did you buy those seeds?

frizzybaker - February 14, 2011

from a store called “Mother Earth”

3. Jesse Rae - February 19, 2011

I have been using chia seeds in my smoothies! And I used them in a vegan strawberry granola bar recipe. I bought mine online!

frizzybaker - February 20, 2011

Yum! I would love to have that vegan strawberry granola bar recipe!


Leave a Reply

