jump to navigation

Cinnamon Rolls February 20, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert, Recipes.
trackback

Today I needed one of these…

I began my week by watching my husband “keck” his breakfast, lunch, and what would’ve been dinner, into the toilet. I immediately went into “nurse Megan” mode; I made chicken noodle soup, started an IV drip of OJ, and kept the bleach within arm’s reach. With all my ducks in a row, I thought taking care of my husband would be much easier than taking care of my crazy patients at the hospital… oh my  pumpkin how I was wrong.

All my life I have been trying to stay in my bed.  The alarm goes off and I hit snooze; sunshine pours through my windows and I draw blinds; cold creeps in between my blankets and I snuggle deeper into the sheets. I believe you are crazy if you want to get out of a warm, soft, comfy bed to a harsh, cold, and adult world. At the hospital, everyone is trying to get out of bed:

Patient – “I gotta meet my brother!”
Nurse – “Sweet heart, it’s 3AM in the morning. Your brother is sleeping.”
Patient – “I just need to walk. I need to walk outta here!”
Nurse – “Sweety, you have no legs. You can’t walk.”
Patient – “I GOTTA GET OUT OF THIS BED!”

 And I think I’m leaving this behind at the hospital. . .

Kevin: ” I gotta get up and go to class.”
Nurse Megan: “Sweet heart, it’s 1AM in the morning. There is no class.”
Kevin: “Then I need to go for a walk!”
Nurse Megan: ” Sweety, it’s cold and dark outside.”
Kevin: “I GOTTA GET OUT OF THIS BED!

See what I mean?! Crazy. So I put my  BSN good use and drugged my little sweety so I could make myself some much needed comfort food- cinnamon rolls. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to document the making of these gooey treats because my camera was trapped in the crazy man’s bed! 

Cinnamon Rolls
(From Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book)

Ingredients
– 1 to 4.5 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 package active dry yeast
– 1 cup milk
– 1/3 cup granulated sugar
– 1/3 cup butter or margarine
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 2 eggs
– 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
– 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
– 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
– 1/3 cup butter
– 1/2 cup raisins
– 1/2 cup pecans or walnuts
– 1 recipe Cream Cheese icing

Directions
1.
In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 cups of the flour and the yeast; set aside.

2. In a small saucepan heat and stir milk, granulated sugar, 1/3 cup butter, and the salt just until warm (120F to 130F) and butter almost melts; add to flour mixture along with the eggs. Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed for 30 seconds, scraping the bowl. Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much of the remaining 2-2.5 cups flour as you can.

3. Turn dough out onto a floured surface. Knead in enough remaining flour to make a moderately soft dough that is smooth and elastic (3-5 mins total). Shape dough into a ball. Place dough in a lightly greased bowl, turning once to grease surface of dough. Cover; let rise in warm place until double in size (1-1.5 hours).

4. Punch dough down. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Divide in half. Cover and let rest 10 minutes.

5. Lightly grease two 8x8x2- or 9x9x2-inch baking pans or two 9×1.5 inch round baking pans; set aside.

6. For the filling, stir together brown sugar, the 1/4 cup flour, and cinnamon; using a pastry blender, cut in 1/3 cup butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs my pastry blender are my hands. Stir in raisins and pecans.

7. Roll each dough half into a 12×8 inch rectangle. Sprinkle filling over dough, leaving 1-inch unfilled along one of the long sides. rolls up each rectangle, starting from the filled long side. Pinch dough to seal seams. Slice each rolled rectangle into 12 pieces. Arrange in prepared pans. Cover and let rise in a warm place until nearly doubled in size (30min).

8. Preheat oven to 375F and bake for 20-25 mins or until golden. Cool about 5 mins and then remove from pans. Spread with frosting!

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:
– 3oz package softened cream cheese
– 2 Tablespoons softened butter
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– 2.5 cups powdered sugar
– approx 4 teaspoons milk

Directions

1. In a small mixing bowl, beat creak cheese, butter and vanilla.

2. gradually beat in powdered sugar until smooth

3. beat in milk, 1 teaspoon at a time until it reaches a spreading consistency (I found that to be 4 teaspoons.)

Volia!

By the next day, my crazy man awoke with a voracious appetite so all I got were two little cinnamon rolls… this will be a repeat recipe for sure!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

