jump to navigation

Hot Chocolate February 22, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Drinks, Recipes.
trackback

Summer is fast approaching Florida. So, I am drinking all the hot cocoa I can before the summer heat deters me from hot drinks. I guzzle hot coco so fast that we ran out and thus I freaked out. That’s when Kevin calmly suggested I make it from scratch. Make hot chocolate from scratch? Even though I have been preparing food from scratch for about a year now, I am still amazed that everything can be made from raw ingredients.

Hot Coco
(From Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book)

Ingredients


2 oz unsweetened or semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped, or 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate pieces
– 1/3 cup sugar
– 4 cups milk

* For a low fat option, substitute 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder for the chocolate and use fat-free milk

Directions

1. In a medium saucepan combine chocolate, sugar, and 1/2 cup of the milk.

2. Cook and stir over medium heat until the mixture just comes to boiling.

3. Stir in the remaining milk. Heat through but do not boil.

4. Serve in mugs and if desired, top with whipped cream or marshmallows!

 This is the real deal y’all, so prepare smaller cups than my mug and drink with cation or else be burdened with stomach ache afterwards (though it was totally worth it! :))

nom nom!

Comments»

1. Gigi - February 25, 2011

I made the real thing for Maddie and Ethan and they didn’t like it!

frizzybaker - February 25, 2011

what?! Kebin sucked down the whole pot!


Leave a Reply

