jump to navigation

Late post about Easter Day May 6, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Adventures, Breakfast.
trackback

I know! This is such a late post about Easter Day. But once I flew back to Florida, my life moved into the fast lane. Better late than never right? Plus, I have a recipe to share!

For Easter, my family decided to take a trip to Charlotte and meet up with my grandparents, cousins and my aunt and uncle. The last time I was at a family gathering was Thanksgiving and that’s because everyone came to Florida! So before we took off, mom and I made:

Oat and Maple Syrup Scones
(from http://smittenkitchen.com/)

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for dusting surface
– 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
– 1/2 cup rolled oats
– 1 heaped tablespoon baking powder
– 1 heaped tablespoon granulated sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon table salt
– Scant 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
– 1/4 cup maple syrup
– 1/4 cup milk or buttermilk
– 1 egg, beaten (for glaze)

Directions
1.
Preheat your oven to 400°F (200°C).

2. Butter a baking tray or line them with greased parchment paper.

3. Whisk the flours, oats, baking powder, sugar and salt together in a large bowl.

4. In a small dish, combine the milk and syrup. Set aside.

5. With a pastry blender or your fingertips, work the chopped pieces of butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

6. Add the liquid ingredients to the butter-flour mixture. By hand or with a rubber spatula, bring everything together to form a softish dough. If it feels too dry, add a little more milk but not enough that the dough is sticky. The dough should not be sticky at all.

7. On a lightly floured surface, pat or roll the dough out until it is 1 1/4 inches (3 cm) tall. I improvised on the dough roller 🙂

I was actually annal about this and got out the ruler.

7. Using a 2-inch (5-cm) cutter, cut the dough into rounds and place them on the prepared tray so that they almost touch. First off, who the poop has a 2-inch (5 cm) cutter? What does that even mean?! I used the top of a glass… which I felt guilty about not owning a 2-inch cutter thingy like smittenkitchen, so I measured the top and it was 2 inches!

8. Glaze the tops with beaten egg and bake for 20 to 25 minutes until the scones are lightly golden. The scones will stick together, so pull them gently apart when they’ve cooled a bit — pull-apart scones!

Isn’t my mommy cute! We have so much fun together.

All done!

These must be eaten with a friend, fresh from the oven, and with good honey. While these were ment for Easter Sunday, we gobbled up a few too many before going to Charlotte the next day. I managed to save a couple for my grandparents but that was it. oops!

I’ve always loved going to my grandparents house.

One reason being because I have the most kind-hearted grandparents in the world. I’m a lucky girl! And the other is because my grandmother preps her house for her guests.

She always takes care to display beautiful arrangements for every occasion.

And sneak in special treats here and there.

I am good at finding all the special treats and stuffing my face with them.

Oops?

My cousin, Anna, made some deeeelicious cupcakes with salted caramel frosting. This was my first time experiances a sweet but salty frosting. It was delicious and I plan to replicate this!

I also got to meet a new addition to our family! Baby Avery!

 Well that pretty much wraps up my Easter! I was sad to see it pass but life have been more than exciting here. Florida is probably enjoying its last cold break before the summer heat. blech. Enjoy your weekend!

Comments»

1. Nicole - May 19, 2011

Mom looks so cute!!

2. Myron Alice - June 3, 2011

The scones you made for us were so beautiful! thanks and much love

3. Myron Alice - June 3, 2011

I have looked at these pictures before but I think you did a great job taking pictures!!!! love you

4. Myron Alice - June 3, 2011

Guess whose birthday it is today!


Leave a Reply

