jump to navigation

Last Day in Seattle June 30, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Adventures.
trackback

This last day was epic! Katie and I met up with a friend of hers, Bridget, who took us on a 35 MILE bike trip around Seattle.

Katie, Bridget, Me!

 First, let me tell you a little bit about our leader. This woman is UH-mazing; She roughed it in the Peace Corps for two years and then decided to bike home from MEXICO to SEATTLE with a friend. I bike a total of 2 miles most days. . . this lady biked 2,434.85 miles and we were about to go on a bike ride with her. . . EEK! 

Luckily for me, we were biking for food that day 🙂 We whizzed up and down mountains, skirtted through traffic, and dodged a train! We biked over bridges and straight up mountains. And I made it!

Our “half-way there” reward was at Bakery Nouveau. I selected a veggie sandwich which isn’t listed on the menu because their sandwiches are made fresh daily!

There were cucumbers, carrots, olives (which I picked off and gave to Katie – ick!) with some sort of delicious spread on the bakery’s focaccia bread.

Katie diggin' in!

If your mouth isn’t watering yet let me tell you about desert. Or better yet, I’ll post what the bakery says about their desert.

“At Bakery Nouveau we make all our products with only the very best natural ingredients. You will savor every morsel of out buttery croissants and fresh fruit Danish. Our pastries are baked several times daily to ensure ultimate freshness.”

I chose the . .
“Twice Baked Chocolate Croissant
Our classic chocolate croissant soaked in simple syrup and filled with delicious almond cream. It is topped with sliced almonds and additional almond cream and a bar of decadent chocolate.”

This was decadent and just what my sore legs needed for the long trip back home. If I had known how good it was going to be I would’ve made Katie get her own! But alas, we split it (but I got the bigger piece ;))

We ate our lunches on the beach with these views to accompany us.

After fueling up, we biked alongside the shoreline homebound.

Even though  my butt was raw and my legs were sore I was sorry to see this adventure end. We had a wonderful guide/friend to lead the way!

All done!

The next morning I said a tearful goodbye to my hosts and Seattle and boarded the plane for Florida, thus ending my  vacation and birthday week. . . until next year!  

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

