jump to navigation

Tirimisu & No-Frizz Hair September 10, 2011

Posted by frizzybaker in Dessert.
trackback

Today I got my hair cut and styled it STRAIGHT!

 
 

I look drunk here; probably as a result of the tirimisu

 

tooo muuch kaluuha

Enough about hair and onto the recipe! I made an authentic (at least as authentic as it gets here in the states) tirimisu for an Italian resident for his “goodbye-from-our-unit” party. The Italian ate TWO pieces because it tasted so good. See for yourself!

Tirimisu
(Adapted from allrecipes.com)

 

Ingredients
6 egg yolks
3/4 cups white sugar
1 1/4 cups mascarpone cheese *
1 3/4 cups heavy whipping cream
2 (7 ounce) packages ladyfingers **
1/3 cup coffee flavored liqueur ***
1 1/2 cup strong coffee
^
2 left over lady fingers
Couple of ounces of chocolate covered coffee beans

Couple of notes
* I used hard ladyfingers vs. soft. The brand I found was Vicenzovo but I’m sure any brand will work. I liked using a harder cookie because they don’t fall apart when you soak them in the liquer. I found this brand at the Fresh Market

** For the mascarpone cheese I found it in the “nice cheese” section of Kroger – I’m sure you can find this anywhere
*** I used Kaluha but you can use any kind of liqueur you prefer
^ Espresso is traditional to use in Tirimisu but I don’t have an espresso maker. Instead I used strong coffee: 1 1/2 Cup water + 8Tbsp coffee = strong coffee.

Directions

1. Combine egg yolks and sugar in the top of a double boiler, over boiling water. Reduce heat to low, and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring constantly.

2. Remove from heat and whip yolks until thick and lemon colored.

3. Add mascarpone to whipped yolks. Beat until combined.

 

4. In a separate bowl, whip cream to stiff peaks. Gently fold into yolk mixture and set aside.

5. Combine strong coffee with liqueur.

6. Dip each lady finger into the coffee mixture and line the bottom of a glass pan – I used a 13×9 inch glass pan.

 

7. Spoon half of the cream filling over the lady fingers. Repeat ladyfingers, coffee liqueur and filling layers.  

8. For the topping take the remaining two lady fingers and process them into fine crumbs

9. Dust the top of the cake with the ladyfinger crumbs

10. Next take the chocolate cover coffee beans and grind them up in a food processor until coarse bits

11. Sprinkle on top of cake

Let sit in fridge for 24-48 hours so all the flavors blend well.

Enjoy!

Comments»

1. Gigi - September 11, 2011

Your hair looks great!

2. Aunt Penny - September 12, 2011

Doesn’t straight hair make you feel like a person with real hair. It actually swishes when you move your head. Looks great on you. Can’t believe how flat it is. Even when mine is straight it has way to much body.

frizzybaker - September 13, 2011

i know! i need a flat iron – know any good ones?

3. Nicole - September 13, 2011

Love your straight hair!!! And I want tiramisu…I’ve been thinking about it lately. I may make it for isaac’s Bday.

4. Myron Alice - September 15, 2011

Megan, I have been thinking of emailing and telling you to cut your hair. I think it will be curly again. Your hair is pretty straight but that takes more time.
Received your sweet thank you note. love you maw maw


Leave a Reply

